Mayer Journal Article Prize

The Mayer Journal Article Prize is awarded annually to the author(s) of the paper judged to be the best published in the Australian Journal of Political Science (AJPS) in the previous year.

The prize is determined by a judging panel established by the Executive Committee of APSA, comprised of three judges and at least one member of the Editorial Board of the AJPS. Past winners will be encouraged to participate in the judging process for future awards.

All members of the panel will be invited to nominate, by a set date, three eligible papers in order of merit for consideration. Symposia, or parts of symposia, replies or rejoinders, research notes and book reviews are excluded from consideration.

The winner of the prize will be announced in the relevant year, at the annual conference dinner, where the prize of A$1000 and a trophy will be awarded.

Mayer Journal Article Prize 2020:

  • Judging Panel Confirmed – Wednesday 20 May 2020
  • Winner announcement – APSA 2020 AGM
  • Commission of Winner’s Trophy and Prize – APSA 2021 Annual Conference Dinner

Past Winners: 

2020: Elizabeth Strakosch , ‘The technical is political: settler colonialism and the Australian Indigenous policy system’

2019: Alastair Stark, ‘New institutionalism, critical junctures and post-crisis policy reform’

2018: Carolyn Hendriks, ‘Citizen-led Democratic Reform: Innovations in Indi.’

2017: Dennis Grube, ‘Sticky Words? Towards a theory of rhetorical path dependency.’

2016: Alan Fenna & Alan Tapper, ‘Economic Inequality in Australia: A Reassessment.’

2015: Dennis Grube, ‘Administrative learning or political blaming? Public servants, parliamentary committees and the drama of public accountability.’

2014: Professors Kath Gelber and Luke McNamara, ‘Freedom of speech and racial vilification in Australia: “The Bolt case” in public discourse.’

2013:Alan Fenna & Alan Tapper, ‘The Australian Welfare State and the Neoliberalism Thesis.’

2011: John Kane and Haig Patapan, ‘The Artless Art: Leadership and the Limits of Democratic Rhetoric.’

2010: Tim Rowse, ‘Indigenous politics.’

2009: Linda Botterill and Anne McNaughton, Australian National University, ‘Laying the Foundations for the Wheat Scandal: UN sanctions, Private actors and the Cole inquiry

2008: Sally Young, University of Melbourne, ‘Policy-making in a ‘cold climate‘ of ruling party benefit: Party government and the regulation of government advertising in Australia.’

2001: Judith Brett, Latrobe University, ‘Retrieving the Partisan History of Australian Citizenship.’

2000: Stephen Crook, Jan Pakulski and Bruce Tranter, University of Tasmania, ‘The Dynamics of environmental issues in Australia: Concerns, clusters and carriers’. 

1999: Murray Goot, ‘Whose Mandate? Policy Promises, Strong Bicameralism and Polled Opinion’